top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

LAST MINUTE INSTRUCTIONS


I remembered when I was moving from London (which was my home for seven years) to California, I had to leave a lot of things behind as I needed to travel light. Moving isn't always easy, same as leaving behind friends and family to go somewhere. Part of my leaving checklist was handing down worthwhile stuff to friends. I can still picture my tiny dorm with 'post it' on every piece of furniture. I left a favorite work jacket to a friend at work, one of my most priced possession book to a very dear friend, kitchen things to my dearest sister-like housemate before and many other things. Apart from that I also had to leave notes, hand over a lot of paper works and books related to work and studies to some colleagues. I even left instructions, to-do list to my BFF, and a forwarding address for any important mails for me. I gave them my new address, my new phone number and e-mail address to make sure they can contact me and keep communication open with my closest friends at the same time they all wrote down their phones and addresses on my new phone book to take with me. All these preparation to make sure that everything is settled before I leave, that everyone is aware of where I was going and to reassure them that we can still communicate with each other even though I will be living thousands of miles away on the other side of the Lake.


Yes, this is exactly how I felt reading through and pondering chapter 14 of the Book of John. Jesus was trying to leave his disciples with last minute reminders, preparing them for the inevitable yet His most important mission here on earth: to die for our sins so that we can be saved! He was making sure that they would be ready for what's to come and that they know what to do and understand why it all happened afterwards. That they might see the bigger picture of His sacrifice for the greater good of God's kingdom.


Here are some of Jesus' last minute instruction for us too:


1. A Reservation in Heaven

Jesus promised that He will come back for His disciples and for us, but in the meantime, he left the Holy Spirit in charge and be with them while he is away. He also said that He is preparing a place (John 14:2-3) for all who believes in Him. Indeed, something to look forward to.


"In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. " (John 14:2-3)


2. A Direct Line to the Father

Jesus is like our mothers, trying to get everything ready and he is as prepared as a boy scout. He instructed us of the best way to the Father is only through Jesus Christ (John 14:6). Jesus opened the direct line for His children to call and ask the Father anything, only if we "ask anything in Jesus name and He will do it' (John 14:14). My mom has always taught me to end my prayer with "In Jesus name we pray, Amen." and that says it all. With this, we not only acknowledge the power of Jesus Christ and put our whole trust in Him, it also glorifies the Father. This promise also tells us that we can pray directly to our Lord Jesus Christ for whatever we need or ask. Our only way to the Father is through the Son.


"I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me." (John 14:6)

3. A Helper

In Chapter 14, Jesus clearly declares His deity, His place in heaven, his real purpose here on earth. Jesus revealed himself as "the Father and the Father is in Me" (John 14:11). He also introduced us to the Advocate (the Helper) that the Father will send to be with us forever....and this is the Holy Spirit. Yes, God the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, three in one hence the TRINITY. Do we really have to ask for more?


Jesus promised his disciples that they will not be orphaned (John 14:18); that He will come again. This same promise was true for the disciples then and it is still true for us today. As long as we believe and love God, we have the Holy Spirit to keep reminding and teaching us about our Savior.


The chapter closed with the last thing on Jesus' to-do list: He leaves us with PEACE...


"Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid." (John 14: 27)

Let us continue to learn, reflect, believe and obey JESUS!


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page