top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

WHY DO YOU READ?

Young kids learn to read. Older kids read to learn. So what do we, grown-ups, read for? I have loved reading for a long time, probably as long as I can remember. Reading seems to take a different shape and purpose in each stage of our lives, don't you think?


When I was a child, I found this old, tacky, leather bound children storybook owned by my late aunt who was a teacher. She left it with my mom along with a few other knick-knacks, but me being me, only have eyes for this very interesting book. Since I took hold of that tattered storybook, I have my mind set on reading every single story and fairy tale contained thereof. I am pretty sure I was able to read most of it if not all.

"The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go." -Dr. Seuss

During my elementary days, I love to volunteer to read the day's selection for our Reading Comprehension in our English Class. In my High School days, those little paper bound pocket novels were a hit! And did I not devour them too. We were required to read and report on a few classics in our English and Filipino classes and that was as fun!


Then I was introduced into these "choose your own adventure books", oooh! totally a new world in reading. Slowly I learned to go to the Mall, stand by for hours in the bookstore browsing and sampling books while happily sitting on the floor (sometimes I get stampede by other people).


My younger cousins always look forward when I get to stay or spend summer with them. I usually bring my coloring books and Bible story books with me and read it to them mostly every night. Now that we are mostly parents ourselves, we sort of remember those good old days and it was fun to hear from them that they did enjoy me reading stories to them. Maybe I got this talent from my Mom who is a children's minister in our local church. She leads our Junior Worship, she tells us Bible stories at Sunday School using aids like those flannel boards, and at times she even presents us with object lessons so we can grasp theology easier. Indeed my mom is my best storyteller ever. She read to me and now we both love reading and some times read the same book.


College days were glorious. The university libraries were huge, collections after collections of books whether for research, for required reading or for pleasure, the choices seems to be endless. I can practically live there.


"My Alma Mater was BOOKS, a good library....I could spend the rest of my life READING, just satisfying my curiosity." - Malcolm X

Apart from reading to learn, reading during my university days made me better in analyzing situations, problems or conflicts, connecting ideas and arriving at a conclusion or a theory to support my findings. Critical thinking was developed in me through reading and learning.


Reading to my son growing up was an enjoyable mommy duty for me. He is now 12 and I still do it. Towards the end of last year, I thought of reading the same book he was reading in his English class. It was a hard read, a very emotional and serious book. He struggled to understand it, but I think discussing the chapters he's read and the class watching the movie helped him get through it. I have been reading to him since he was a baby, as a young boy he loved going to our local library to pick his own books to read, but he grew up and for whatever reason he is not such a reader as mom. How I hope he would grow to love it back.

Reese Witherspoon's Book Club.

 

Reading in community is another good way to love and enjoy reading. Oh yes! Oprah made it famous in her show, but book clubs have been around for a long time. Sometimes I look up the reading list from some of these famous book clubs or if there is a thumbs up sticker on the book cover from a book club like Oprah's or Reese Witherspoon's. I have joined book clubs and I have hosted one too. It is both fun especially when you do it with friends. In our church, I have met this local WWII Romance author. Her name is Sarah Sundin and has written a few stand alone novels and a few series too. Some of our ladies have a book club that would usually go through every book that she has published. Hey! Check out her works HERE.



I have not had time to join them but knowing them ladies, I am sure it is sooo fun. Have you tried joining a book club? If reading is a very boring thing for you, try joining one this might spur you to read more and be excited talking to others in your group about what you read.


Nowadays, reading is more like therapy for me. It is such a calming and relaxing activity where I can sit-down, be by myself, and at times even put my feet up with a cup of coffee on the side. I still read to learn. I still analyze what I read so I can connect the dots and ideas of what I am reading. I prefer physical books to read but discovering audio books have been a gift to me lately. I currently enjoy audio books during my walks, for novels and fiction books. I find it amazing how those audio book voice over can take me to places and immerse myself into the story I am listening to. The Bible app that reads the Scripture to me every morning is another revelation that have blessed my mornings! Of course, I still prefer my physical Bible and I love buying a new one every year too! Shhhh....our secret.



Just how big a part reading is to our everyday life, and what important things it has taught us through the years and through the different stages of our lives. I believe that each of us value reading differently. Some of us read for entertainment, some for information. No matter how shallow the material we have in hand reading is still reading. It is still beneficial to your brains (that I believe). Some of us reads only serious materials, those that only read files and files of important documents or those perfecting their craft in politics and the law. I am quite sure no matter how serious their reading material is, they still have a spark of enjoyment in doing that for they love what they do.


I have expanded my choice of reading materials over the years. Now I browse through historical romance (as influenced by Sarah Sundin's work), I listen to people's book recommendations. I have my two favorite authors that I have been following for years now - James Patterson and Jodi Picoult. These two authors can never be more different. Patterson writes very short, page-turner chapters that grabs me by the neck. Picoult, on the other hand, writes very long chapters but gripping characterization that builds up the story. Now I have immersed myself to reading more christian books mostly book suggestions from our Women's Ministry. I can never stress enough that choosing books to read is as important at reading itself. I need to be aware of the materials I am reading too, how it will build me up or affect my thinking and my belief. I think that is important nd something I value.



This past year I believe I have read the best book recommendations and suggested readings I have found. Check out these books I am talking about from my TOP 10 LIST. And sometimes you know things happen I do not get to read all the books I pile up for the New Year because some books randomly show up or a really good book a friend just read comes up at our chat...and that is okay! I have another tall stock pile of books I received, I bought and I plan to study and read for 2023 (which my hubby's already complaining about how much book is lying around our bedroom), if you like to have a peek CLICK HERE.


A little change to my reading life this 2023 is to make a reading goal and into that list I have thought of making focused choices on the kind of books I want to read. Some of my reading goals are:

  • To read at least one (1) classic novel (ex: "To Kill A Mockingbird")

  • To read at least one (1) biography (ex: "Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy")

  • To finish at least one (1) short series book by an author (ex: "The Thursday Murder Club"

  • To read at least one (1) christian doctrine book (ex: "Do you Believe?: 12 Historic Doctrines to Change your Everyday Life")

  • To read at least one (1) book by a new author (find a new and upcoming author this 2023)

  • To read at least one (1) historical romance (suggested by friends)

  • To read at least one (1) great recommendation


And so I will throw back the question to you...why do you read? Is it for learning, for development, for improvement, for training, for pleasure, for entertainment or for work? What are you reading now?

"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies.. The man who never reads lives only one." by George R.R. Martin
 

/deeEND/


28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page