top of page
  • Writer's pictureDee

LAST WORDS: John 13

As I reflect on this Lent, I open my Bible to John chapters 13 to 17 this week. Each day heading to Easter, I would read a chapter, recall and reflect on the story of Jesus' last hours before His crucifixion. I would walk back the Easter story and have an eye for Jesus' last words. As I have learned from previous Bible Studies, I will keep asking questions and try to learn about three important things: (1) What I will learn about GOD; (2) What I will learn about people in general and myself; and (3) What will resonate with my current situation. Come learn and reflect with me this week on Jesus' Last Words.....let us all learn, reflect, believe and obey.



JESUS SET AN EXAMPLE


Washing of Feet

Chapter 13 opens up with Jesus washing His disciples feet. He literally went down on his knees to the floor, put aside his outer garment and a towel around his waist. He washed each of his disciples feet. Peter, the beloved, tried to get out of it first, but later asked to be washed more than his feet.


“If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another's feet. For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you. Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.” (John 13:14-17)

Jesus served his disciples by washing their feet. His sole purpose was to set an example for them to follow, to be of service to others. If Jesus, the Son of God, washed his own disciples feet, what reason do we have as servants alike not to wash each others feet and serve each other?


Jesus, at this point, knew that His time is coming. He knew and predicted what was to come - that one of his own will betray him, that his most beloved disciple will deny him - even though the disciples were still confused at that time, He assured them that in time they would realize that all "these things must happen" according to God's will so that "the Son of Man is glorified, and God is glorified in Him" (John 13:31).



A NEW COMMAND

He also left us a New Commandment, that "by this all people will know that you are my disciples; if you have love for one another" (John 13:35). Here is the new commandment left not just for the disciples but for all of us. This great commandment is much needed especially in our modern times where hate seems to rule more than love. Let's have a look and examine ourselves how relevant this is to our everyday life?


“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” (John 13:34-35)

On this first take on Jesus' Last Words let us reflect on LOVING OTHERS. Jesus left us an example on how to go down on our knees and be of service to others. That as children of God, we should show love to everyone as this is how we are marked as Christians, as followers of Jesus Christ. As we remember what Jesus did for us more than 2,000 years ago, let us be more LOVING to others without prejudice, without discrimination. Let us be ready to serve and serve others with the love that GOD has shown and given us freely.


Let us continue to learn, reflect, believe and obey JESUS!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page